Colorado SpringsElection 2018Hot Sheet

El Paso County commissioner candidate Cami Bremer racks up endorsements

Author: Ernest Luning - March 23, 2018 - Updated: March 23, 2018

Cami Bremer (Courtesy photo)

Cami Bremer, one of three Republicans running for El Paso County commissioner in District 5,  announced this week she’s been endorsed by dozens of current and former elected and party officials — including seven current and former El Paso County commissioners and three former state GOP chairmen — as well as civic leaders and a trio of Olympic shooters.

“I am humbled to have the support of so many incredible leaders from around our state and region,” Bremer said in a statement. “I have worked alongside these individuals for over a decade, and I am honored that they have placed their trust in me to serve on the El Paso County Commission.”

Bremer is community and physician relations manager at Penrose Hospital and was governmental affairs director for the Colorado Springs Chamber of Commerce.

District 5 is represented by term-limited Republican Peggy Littleton. The other GOP candidates for the seat are Lawrence Martinez, who ran for mayor of Colorado Springs in 2015, and Vickie Tonkins, who made an unsuccessful bid for an at-large Colorado Springs City Council seat that same year. Democrat Kari Frederick, who runs a bed and breakfast that allows marijuana consumption, is also running.

The El Paso County Republican assembly is Saturday. Candidates hoping to make the June 26 primary ballot need the support of at least 30 percent of the delegates.

Below are the endorsements Bremer released this week. Some of her endorsers fall in more than one category.

Current city and county officials:
Mark Waller, El Paso County commissioner
Stan VanderWerf, El Paso County commissioner
Dan May, 4th Judicial District attorney
Jill Gaebler, Colorado Springs Councilwoman
Duncan Bremer, former El Paso County commissioner
Jim Bensberg, former El Paso County commissioner
Ed Jones, former El Paso County commissioner
Gary Shupp, former El Paso County commissioner
Larry Small, former Colorado Springs councilman
Bernie Herpin, former Colorado Springs councilman

Current state and congressional officials:
Kyle Hybl, CU regent
Jim Banks, Indiana congressman
Bob Gardner, state senator
Larry Liston, state representative
Ryan Parsell, state deputy treasurer
Bob Beauprez, former congressman
Scott Gessler, former secretary of state
Frank McNulty, former House speaker
Amy Stephens, former House majority leader
Andy McElhany, former Senate minority leader

Republican Party officers and staff:
Dick Wadhams, former state chairman
Ryan Call, former state chairman
Don Ytterberg, former state vice chairman
Bob Balink, former state treasurer
Eli Bremer, former El Paso County chairman
Sandra Bankes, former El Paso County treasurer
Bill Roy, former El Paso County executive director
Nathan Fisk, former El Paso County executive director

Civic leaders:
Richard Randall, KVOR radio host
Matt Emmons, four-time Olympian in Rifle, won gold, silver and bronze medals
Keith Sanderson, three-time Olympian in Pistol, No. 3 in the world
Bill Roy, Olympian in Shotgun
Marty Mankemyer, former U.S. Olympic Committee president
Ed Rios, business executive
Jen Furda, business executive
Ana English, business executive

Ernest Luning

Ernest Luning

Ernest Luning is a political correspondent for Colorado Politics. He has covered politics and government for newspapers and online news sites in Colorado for more than 25 years, including at the Highlands Ranch Herald, the Jefferson Sentinels chain of community newspapers and the Aurora Sentinel, where he was the city hall and cops reporter. After editing the Aurora Daily Sun, he was a political reporter and blogger for The Colorado Independent site. For nearly a decade, he was a senior political reporter and occasional editor at The Colorado Statesman before the 119-year-old publication merged with Colorado Politics in 2017.